My Bike Friendly Neighborhood

Secret passage to the Veloway

Thanks to the wily nature of high school kids, you can get to the Veloway from behind Bowie High School.

Yesterday, I cruised out of my garage on Blue and lit out for a 22-mile ride along Slaughter Lane to South Loop 1. It only takes me 10 minutes to get to the Veloway from home, but this time I went the long 12-mile route. I headed south on 45/South Loop 1 to RR 1626 where I turned around and headed back north. Then I took a few turns on the Veloway before cutting through the back way to Bowie High School and home, which is only 3-miles from the school. According to my speedometer, I rode 22 miles altogether.

Back way to Veloway

To use the secret passage from Bowie HS to the Veloway, you have to ford a wash. Except there is rarely any water in it.

I successfully pulled the hill that gave me trouble on my first ever training ride, which made me feel like I’ve made some tremendous progress! I had only one problem, and that was in my right hand. It feel asleep twice, so I bought a pair of riding gloves last night when I went to the Hill Country Ride orientation. I also bought a flat tire repair kit to hook onto my bike seat, so I’m all ready for the ride on April 28.

Only 8 more days until the big day! If you’d like to donate to the cause, visit my personal page (click on this!) on the Hill Country Ride for AIDS website. I am trying to raise $1,250. Only $245 more to go!

© Suzanne Freeman 2012

About Suzanne Freeman

I have been back in Austin for two years now after a 20-year absence, first in Sacramento, California, then to New York City, where I spent the last 16 years. I miss The City and the friends I left in both places, but love, love, love being back in Austin with my family. Thanks, Steve for coming with me!
This entry was posted in Bicycle riding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment