Back on the Bike

4th of July Parade

Addy and crew win 2nd place in Wagons Division of the Shady Hollow 4th of July Parade.

The heat of the summer drove me into the pool and kept me off the bike, although Blue Belle and I did ride with Addy in the Shady Hollow Fourth of July parade. She won second place in the wagon division!

I made three trips around the Veloway last week, just getting the kinks out. I also talked to the guy who maps out the Hill Country Ride for AIDS routes about taking on the 50 mile route next spring. He doesn’t think I can do it on a Townie. He tried it once and said he was miserable with only the seven gears. “Well, you’re not a little ol’ lady, either,” I said. “Don’t mess with my Blue Belle!”

For today’s trip, I discovered my tires were too low. I had packed a lunch and my latest read—Swamplandia!—so I struggled through to my favorite tree at the 2.5 mile point, and chilled for awhile. I enjoyed a cool breeze under the tree believe it or not.

A stop for a bite of book and lunch on the Veloway.

Although it is about 91 degrees out, it is the autumnal equinox tomorrow! What a beautiful day. Steve and I are about to head out and buy a new bicycle pump to get me ready for the next ride. I want to start exploring new trails again.

The pool and Schlitterbahn  water park helped me keep in shape over the summer, but I can no longer pull Mount Everest. I can ride 10 or so miles at a clip, however, I just need to get my hill legs back. I also need to find the instructions to my odometer. I forgot how to calibrate it! Ahh, the inconveniences of old age.

© Suzanne Freeman 2012

About Suzanne Freeman

I have been back in Austin for two years now after a 20-year absence, first in Sacramento, California, then to New York City, where I spent the last 16 years. I miss The City and the friends I left in both places, but love, love, love being back in Austin with my family. Thanks, Steve for coming with me!
This entry was posted in Bicycle riding, Books, Grandkids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back on the Bike

  1. lexiesnana says:

    I can see why she got second.Beautiful child!

Leave a Reply

